Malin Aschan Eriksson winner of the Per Manell award


Malin Aschan Eriksson receives the 2022 Per Manell award for best presentation of a master thesis at the Faculty of Pharmacy Student symposium. Mustafa Mohamad wins the Pharmacy Association's award for best degree project at undergraduate level.

Malin Aschan Eriksson winner of the Per Manell award
Malin Aschan Eriksson, winner of the Per Manell award 2022.

After two years online, the Faculty of Pharmacy Student symposium returned to Uppsala's Biomedical Centre. Numerous teachers, alumni and relatives gathered for the opportunity to listen to the students' presentations of their degree projects. According to tradition, the Pharmacy Association presented its prize for the best student project at undergraduate level, this year being awarded to Mustafa Mohamad, with Emma Wanfors and Sara Maleh receiving honorable mentions.

“The student symposium is one of the best days of the year, and 2022 we are extra happy to once again be able to arrange the event on site at BMC. We have had the opportunity to take part of many interesting presentations and nice posters, and seeing so many parents, relatives and alumni here adds yet another dimension, states Anja Sandström, Deputy Dean at the Faculty of Pharmacy.

Mustafa Mohamad receives the Pharmacy Association's award 2022
Mustafa Mohamad, receiver of the Pharmacy Association's award 2022

During the symposium, the Per Manell award is given to the best presentation of a degree project. The 2022 Per Manell award goes to Malin Aschan Eriksson, with Sozyar Karim and Märta Lindquist receiving honorable mentions. As previously reported, Per Manell passed away on March 4, and in order for the award, personally paid for by Per Manell, to live on, a fundraiser has been initiated to which everyone - individuals, companies and organisations - are welcome to contribute, with a goal of raising SEK 300,000,

“We at the Faculty of Pharmacy really appreciate this amazing initiative regarding an award that engages so many, with alumni and teachers working side by side with the shared goal to highlight our students' presentations. That the award now seems to live on in the spirit of Per Manell - and in a way that reminds us of Per's well known generosity - is truly fantastic and also contributes to continued strong ties between the faculty and our alumni,” states Mathias Hallberg, Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy .


  • You are welcome to donate your contribution via the Pharmaceutical Student Union:
  • Swish: 123 526 9428
  • Bank: 6513 – 892 847 131

PER MANELL (1948-2022)

Per Manell enrolled at Uppsala University in the 1960s when he began his studies as a pharmacist. After graduating, Per continued his career at the Faculty of Pharmacy as a teacher in social pharmacy before being recruited to the National Board of Health and Welfare's pharmaceutical department, where he was eventually appointed Medical officer of health. During his long and successful career, Per Manell made many essential pioneering efforts to implement IT in the field of pharmacy, achievements for which he received, among other things, the Pharmacist of the Year award in 1985 and the Rune Lönngren Prize in 2008.


Anja Sandström
Deputy Dean for first and second cycle education

text: Magnus Alsne, photo: Faculty of Pharmacy

More news

Last modified: 2024-04-04