Current ENABLE-2 programmes

ENABLE-2 is currently supporting five promising programmes in the pursuit of new antibiotics: From University of Strathclyde, Justus Liebig University Giessen, Leiden University & Queen’s University Belfast, Uppsala University and QureTech Bio.

ENABLE-2 projekt

PROGRAMME BamA Inhibitors

Novel antibiotics that hit a new target against Gram-negative bacteria
Resident at Justus Liebig University Giessen and Fraunhofer IME, Giessen

Till F. Schäberle, PhD, Principal Investigator

Till F. Schäberle, PhD, Principal Investigator
Justus Liebig University Giessen
Till.F.Schaeberle@agrar.uni-giessen.de


PROGRAMME GmPcides

A new class of antibacterial compounds against gram-positive bacteria & a well-developed chemistry platform to improve these new compounds.
Resident at  QureTech Bio AB, Umeå

​Fredrik Almqvist, Research DirectorFredrik Almqvist, Research Director
QureTech Bio AB
Fredrik.Almqvist@umu.se

Helen Fält, CEOHelén Fält, CEO
QureTech Bio AB
Helen.Falt@quretech.com


PROGRAMME Strathclyde Minor Groove Binders

An anti-infective drug discovery programme with a novel mechanism of action resilient to target-based resistance.
Resident at Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry, University of Strathclyde

Fraser J.Scott, Dr, Senior lecturer Fraser J.Scott, Dr, Senior lecturer 
University of Strathclyde
fraser.j.scott@strath.ac.uk


PROGRAMME JEDI

A novel target with no preexisting resistance and a new compound class showing very good efficacy in animal models.
Resident at  Drug Design and DiscoveryDep of Medicinal Chemistry & Dep of Medical Biochemistry and Microbiology, Uppsala University

Diarmaid Hughes, ProfessorDiarmaid Hughes, Professor
Uppsala University
Diarmaid.Hughes@imbim.uu.se

Anders KarlenAnders Karlén, Professor
Uppsala University
Anders.Karlen@ilk.uu.se


PROGRAMME Ornicidine

A novel class of anti-bacterial agents active against multi drug-resistant Gram-negative bacteria.
Resident at Leiden University and Queen’s University Belfast

Nathaniel Martin, Professor LeidenNathaniel Martin, Professor
Leiden University
n.i.martin@biology.leidenuniv.nl

Stephen Cochrane, Dr.Stephen Cochrane, Dr.
Queen’s University Belfast
s.cochrane@qub.ac.uk


What ENABLE-2 can do for you

Apply to join

CONTACT

Marie OlliverMarie Olliver, PhD, Alliance Manager
Uppsala University
Marie.Olliver@ilk.uu.se

Last modified: 2024-03-07