Prosperous future. Successful history.

Uppsala University's pharmaceutical operations is constantly exploring new frontiers: From Linnaeus' excursions to our boundless commitment in numerous international consortia. Today, the Department of Medicinal Chemistry is a vital and central part of the work for a healthier world.

Agnes Rodler, postdoc

Uppsala University's pharmaceutical research has a long and successful history, dating back to the 1620s and the founding of Uppsala's Faculty of Medicine. At that time, pharmacy, medicine and botany were practically the same science, making the most famous among our researchers Carl von Linné, Professor of Medicine.

On 1 July, 1968, Farmaceutiska Institutet (Pharmaceutical Institute) joined Uppsala University, a fruitful marriage that resulted in Sweden's first - and still only - Faculty of Pharmacy. The number of departments increased rapidly, and in 1992 a reorganisation turned eleven small into three large departments. The relatively short-lived Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry was founded here, before researchers of analytical and organic pharmaceutical chemistry and pharmacognosy in 2001 merged into the Department of Medicinal Chemistry.

Anders Hallberg and H.M Silvia
Anders Hallberg, former Vice-Chancellor and H.M. Silvia

Our department's first two decades include both scientific achievements of great significance and colorful personalities. Among our many prominent researchers are Anders Hallberg, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University 2006–2011, and Mats Larhed, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and current Vice-Rector at the Disciplinary Domain of Medicine and Pharmacy, a collaboration that since 1999 further consolidates our close ties to healthcare.

The Department of Medicinal Chemistry of today is a very stimulating scientific arena. Our research environments attract promising doctoral students whose contributions are central to our efforts to achieve results of the highest quality and relevance. Our expertise is sought after in the global pharmacy and our employees hold key assignments in numerous international consortia. It is with a prominent position that we continue to develop our operations following a clear vision: to contribute to a healthier world.

Important years in our development

1968  Farmaceutiska Institutet is integrated into Uppsala University as the Faculty of Pharmacy.
1973 Adjunct professors are established with employment in industry and service at the university, thus forming a bridge between academia and business.
1975 All of the faculty's departments are on site in Uppsala's Biomedicine Center.
1976 The National Board of Health and Welfare's pharmaceutical department (from 1990 the Swedish Medical Products Agency) moves its operations to Uppsala and becomes a neighbor of the Faculty of Pharmacy.
1977 The faculty appoints Arvid Carlsson, pharmacologist and later Nobel laureate, as honorary doctor.
1990 The faculty takes an active part in the formation of the ULLA consortium, the purpose of which is to strengthen European research and postgraduate education in the field of pharmaceuticals.
1992 The faculty reorganises and eleven departments become three.
1994 The Wallenberg Foundation and Astra allocate SEK 30 million to the faculty's doctoral programs in Galenic pharmacy.
1999 Uppsala University's faculties of pharmacy and medicine unite in the Disciplinary Domain of Medicine and Pharmacy.
2001 Thomas Lönngren, a faculty alumni graduated in Uppsala in 1976, is appointed head of the European Medicines Agency.
2006 Anders Hallberg, Professor of Medicinal chemistry, is appointed Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University.
2018 The Faculty of Pharmacy celebrates 50 years at Uppsala University.
2020 SweDeliver, the national competence center with a focus on drug delivery is inaugurated with the Faculty of Pharmacy being the academic hub.
Last modified: 2021-05-31